After a car accident, many things happen next needed for a car accident recovery. One of the best things to do is consider hiring a lawyer, but besides that necessary step, the next best thing is to get your police accident report. Police reports provide details about your car accident, which not only serves as critical evidence for your trial, but it also serves to build a convincing car accident claim.
Since you’re here, we’re assuming that you need to get a copy of your Houston (HPD) accident report. There are different ways to go about doing this, but one great way is to get your Houston police accident report provided by Sutliff & Stout Law Firm.
Request a Copy of Your Houston Police Department Accident Report
Just provide the details of your accident, and we’ll go track down your Houston accident report and email it to you.
*This service is available to anyone involved in a collision that needs help getting their crash report. This service is not available to other law firms or insurance companies.
Getting a Report from the Texas Department of Transportation
If for some reason you don’t want to obtain your report from Sutliff & Stout Law Firm, the best way to get a copy of the Houston Police Department accident report for your accident is by purchasing it online from the Texas Department of Transportation, here.
TxDOT collects crash reports from every law enforcement agency in Texas. TxDOT maintains records about car accidents that occur on any public roadway in Texas, not just those that occur on the state highway system.
If you were involved in a car accident and a law enforcement officer filed a report about your accident, you can obtain a copy of the report through the Crash Reports and Records section of the TxDOT website.
The Texas Department of Transportation (or “TxDOT”) maintains an archive of all crash records for the State of Texas.
Texas law requires any law enforcement officer who, in the regular course of duty, investigates a car accident that results in injury to or death of a person or damage to property in excess of $1,000 or more, to submit a written report to TxDOT no more than 10 days after the date of the crash.
To obtain the report yourself, you will need to provide at least two of the following pieces of information:
- Crash ID
- Name of any person involved in the crash,
- Date of the crash, and/or
- Location of the crash.
The costs for a copy of a crash report are as follows:
- $6.00 for a regular copy.
- $8.00 for a certified copy. A certified copy will be required for most legal proceedings.
You can also obtain a crash report over the phone or by mail.
Most police accident reports are available on the Texas Department of Transportation’s website. It’s set up to where you can access police reports from anywhere; all you need to do is Internet access. Each report costs $6.00 for a regular copy and $8.00 for a certified copy. It takes seven to ten days before your police accident report is available.
Another way to get your police accident report is by getting it in person. Head to the HPD Records Division at 1200 Travis St., Houston, TX 77002. It costs $6.00.
Houston Police Department Non-Emergency Number
If you did not call 911 from the scene of your car accident, you should call the non-emergency police number to report your accident as soon as possible. You can speak with a member of the Houston Police Department and explain what happened. Be sure to give the police as much information as possible about the accident.